Skip to content

The LOVE of Fly Fishing for Trout.

February 22, 2013

Image

Here is my “LOVE”.

There is so much to think about that I find attractive. I am always thinking about my fly fishing. DAYS BEFORE and when I get there.

Where are the fish?
Are they shallow,in mid water or deep, very deep ?
Is the air warm or the water cold, or vice verse?
Are the trout feeding?
If they are, what are they preoccupied feeding on?
Do I have a fly in my box that matches that which they are feeding on!

Trout are fickle, they are wary…the larger ones are very educated, they learn by association !
The association to danger! Maybe stress? Life or death situation?

The smaller ones are a lot less wary and fall into my category of being opportunists. Easy to catch

So the bigger the Trout , the more meaningful the catch.

Do I deserve that fish?
That absolutely fabulously grown-on specimen of a Trout. The old wise-man of the water!

(It is known of fishermen to go crazy, completely out of their minds in the hunt of the larger Trout !)

Oscar Wilde once said

“to go fishing, is a good excuse to do nothing!”

I completely disagree !

Fishing for Trout is not a simple case of putting a worm on an ‘ook, gettin’ a bite , ‘rippin’ its ‘ead off, as you get it into the net and landing the fish….Then whackin’ it over the ‘ead ….shovin’ it in a plazzy’ bag and taking it ‘ome for me tea !

Where is the art and enjoyment in that?

Fly fishing is an Art !

Collating your energy and materials to build/tie the Fly. Another Topic in its own right, all together.
Many ,many books have been written on the subject of fly tying.

Having the correct knowledge of the ‘ecology’, of the water you are going to.
The sleepless, restless, night before. Do I have everything I need?
Having patience to Pit my wits, my limited ability and well practiced casting technique. In the application of catching the Trout.

Fly casting, some would say, “is an art”.
If I asked you to control a whip, by placing the end of it 30-40 yards away, within a space 12 inches square.
How would you do it ?

The anticipation, the excitement of the journey to the water.
Making my sandwiches & coffee or Bovril. Depending on how the weather is.
I have known the odd flask of hot tea & and few drams of Irish Whiskey !

Leaving my home, my comfort zone….
The adventure of it all…..the whole package.
I know of people who have never been out of their home town, in their entire lives !

My application of the cast. The presentation of the fly. Introducing an imitated, natural part of their menu, into their world.
Having them accept it, hooking the fish and extracting it from its natural environment and landing the fish.
To get it all right. To have everything be just perfect against a creature that sincerely does not want to come away from its natural environment.

Fighting a fish , that would do everything it can to throw the hook out of its mouth. By any means possible !
Battling them out of their natural surroundings, by means of an artificial fly / lure on a very thin strip of nylon.
That could snag, snap, get broken at any moment for a number of reasons.
Attached to a rod that can feel every move of that fight.
I have in my journey of fly fishing, had to strike a large fish on the bank or in the boat.
I’m talking of a Trout over 12lb , and believe me , I did not feel good about it.
I felt disgusted, I felt sick.
(feelings , I cannot express, because of my limited vocabulary here)
Killing a part of me that I love and respect, is an awful experience.
I could not feel righteous…
It would be like burning a cross!
The contrasting feelings of love and joy against the complete dreadful sickening feeling of death.
The small fish don’t bother me somehow? When I have to send them to that fishy heaven or where ever fish go when they die ?
Unless I am in a fishing match/competition, I always put the big one back !
There is no need for unnecessary death !

When all that is necessary comes together, to land that wise old fish !
I feel Fly Fishing is an addictive experience.

Then, “Yes, I would have to disagree with you Mr Wilde !”
(AND THE WORM FISHERMAN TOO)

Maybe it is plugging into the hunter gatherer genetics of our long forgotten behavioral instinct.
That is ignited during the preparation for the fight ?

Some men just want to go fishing, to get away from their wives.
Psychologists would say ” the fisherman is looking for more than the fish, when he goes”.
It is the “Love” of fishing, the thought processes, the feelings of anticipation.
If I don’t catch a fish, I appreciate my surroundings, the chatter of the different birds.
Spotting the rare and graceful Osprey.
Watching the wildlife, the Grebes and their playful dance of courtship.
The fighting of the Mallards for the hen.
The isolated call of a distant Robin !
I love the tranquility of solitude. (Percy Bysshe Shelley).
Yet I am not alone !

Normally I go with my great friend and another lover of fishing, my fishing partner and buddy.
Who also appreciates the wildlife and solitude. We could be together , yet miles apart.
We would not utter a word for hours.
We both understand how we individually feel about our quarry ! Some of the same, some different! But equally valuable.

To catch a fish is a bonus sometimes !

For those who have never tried to fly fish, or even fish at all. To go fishing or fly fishing correctly and lawfully; I personally would highly recommend it.

If it is your desire to go fishing, but you don’t know how to, there are plenty of coaches who would be delighted to show you.
Some for a fee, some for free !
If you’re in my area,
I would give it you for free ! “Share the love” I say!

If I asked you to define your “love” of something, what or how would you do it ?
I am trying here, and one day I will look back and re-write this blog. When I have a few more miles of that bumpy writers road under my belt and a few more big fish!!!

Thank you.
JMP

From → Fly Fishing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

